Rapper HHP, socialite Pearl Thusi and comedian Toll A$$ Mo were the hosts of the glitzy XXI Annual South African Music Awards that took place on Sunday night. The glitzy and glamorous red carpet event featured explosive live performances from class acts like AKA, Cassper Nyovest, Prime Circle, Beatenberg, L’vovo Derango and many more. Beatenberg certainly took the cake – winning Album of the Year, Group of the Year, The SAMPRA award, Best Selling Ring-Back Tone and Best Pop album!


Some other winners included in the list below:

Album of the Year
Beatenberg – The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Duo or Group of the Year
Beatenberg – The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Female Artist of the Year
Bucie – Princess of House (Easy to Love)

Male Artist of the Year
AKA – Levels

Newcomer of the Year
Cassper Nyovest – Tsholofelo

Best Rock Album
aKING – Morning After

Best Pop Album
Beatenberg – Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Afrikaans Pop Album
Riana Nel – Die Regte Tyd

Best Adult Contemporary
Joe Niemand – Back Again

Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album
Dewald Wasserfal – Ek en Jy

Best Traditional Music Album
Botlhale Boikanyo – Spoken Word & Music

Best Maskandi Album
Thokozani Langa – Igema Lami

Best Jazz Album
McCoy Mrubata – Brasskap Sessions Vol. 2

Best RnB Soul Reggae Album
Afrotraction – For The Lovers

Best Rap Album
K.O. – Skhanda Republic

Best Alternative Album
Bittereinder – Skerm

Best Live DVD
Robin Kohl for First Decade by Lira

Music Video of the Year
Ryan Kruger for Prime Circle – Let The Night In

Caracara – K.O. ft KiD X


Best Selling Mobile Music Download
Beatenberg and DJ Clock

Best Selling Ring-Back Tone
Pluto – DJ Clock ft Beatenberg

Best Selling Full-Track Download
Pluto – DJ Clock ft Beatenberg

Highest Airplay of the Year – Pluto; DJ Clock ft Beatenberg

Categories: Events Music