Served up in true feel-good indie pop style, The Vanilla are releasing their latest single today! ‘Little Thoughts’ is certainly both as euphonious in flavourful sound and rhythm as this Cape Town based 4-piece’s name. Band members, Tyan Odendal (guitar and lead vocals), Jaen-Pierre Dowling (bass), Francois Keyser (drums) and Barthlo Visagie (lead guitar and synth), have channelled all their exhilarating energy into creating what could easily be the ultimate summer ballad with this highly anticipated next single release.

Accompanying the track’s release is a short tour documentary style music video. Check out this great little piece of work:

The ‘Little Thoughts’ music video was shot by all of the band members and a couple of their friends in the crowd. Editing was done by Jason Smit with support from Freedom of Movement, a premium leather goods company that the band has partnered with.

Their latest track doesn’t disappoint and is jam-packed with galvanizing synth and catchy guitar riffs that will light up a crowd at any sunset soirée this summer. The single was inspired by the unpredictable ways of an all too familiar human emotion, love. Composers, Tyan Odendal and Dolf Willemse (Co-produced tracks for Francois van Coke, December Streets and Die Heuwels Fantasties) describes the narrative of the lyrics as, “the story of a younger girl cheating on her boyfriend with a much older guy. She falls madly in love with her new Romeo, but he has no intentions of sticking around.” Summing up that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side – a phenomenon that they feel a couple of guys their age has either personally gone through and can relate to. ‘Little Thoughts’ is available as a digital release on Soundcloud and Band Camp as of right now.

The funkadelic foursome have enjoyed a notably quick, but steady climb in the local music industry to become one of the best new acts in SA since their debut in March this year. They have performed at some of the most prestigious venues in Cape Town, played with various big-name artists and secured great performance slots at 3 music festivals (OppiKoppi, Up The Creek & River Republic).

Categories: Music