Following the success of the 2010 debut of MK’s MVP (Music Video Project) the music channel decided to up the ante for this year’s project by commissioning 12 South African artists (as opposed to last year’s 10 artists) to each produce a music video.

To be eligible to enter, each artist had to team up with a South African production company and submit an original track, a concept and treatment for a video, as well as their proposed budget. Elements such as the choice of song, band/artist positioning, visual treatment of the proposed video and how well the concept complemented the MK brand and the appeal for its viewers, were all looked at by an MK judging panel when choosing the winners.

The winners for MK MVP 2011 are:

Ashtray Electric, Bittersweet Manipulator to be produced by Motion City Films
Chocolate Stix, Schizo to be produced by Mannequin Pictures
Dance You’re On Fire, Oh Love to be produced by The Now Museum
Double Adaptor, Eat You Alive to be produced by Mustard Post Productions
Duimpie Se Maat, Moonshine to be produced by Tankfilms
Goodluck, Harlem to be produced by Dirty Soul Productions
Isochronous, Destiny to be produced by Silver Lining Pictures
Krimineel, Gebed van ‘n Reeksmoorde to be produced by The Film Factory
Lark, Brave (Haezer Remix) to be produced by Tevi Baitz and Topher Henny
Moses Metro Man, Samoerai to be produced by DoktrineGeontwerp
Mr. Cat & The Jackal, Try to be produced by Cape Town Film Studio’s
The Frown, The National to be produced by Magic Factory

Check out one of last years legends:

Over the next few weeks MK will be following the progress of all the artists and their music videos. All 12 music videos will be premiered exclusively on MK in November.

Categories: Music Videos